Into The Future With Hope

Day 152    June 1 2014
New Beginnings

“In a spirit of hope and new beginnings, we linked arms like a couple of kids. Pushing aside sad thoughts, we strode off into our future.”  ―A.B. Shepherd

Home Sweet Home at last

Home Sweet Home
at last

“Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”  ― L. Frank Baum

What a journey the last few months have been.  My “Five Year Plan” to prepare for moving into a smaller house somewhere in the country after my husband’s retirement suddenly became God’s “Eight Week Plan” to move into a new, but familiar, community 100 miles away!  So after a whirlwind of preparing and selling our old home in Northern Virginia, and buying and moving into our “new” home (though it’s almost 100 years old) across the state Max and I finally have re-entered the atmosphere of technology once again.  

Max spent the day unpacking and matching up equipment with cords and plugs and devices, until he finally emerged with a grin and  announced “You have internet”!  After his hard work I find myself surprised at my own reaction to his annunciation.  In one way I felt sheer joy at the thought of being connected to the cyber community once again.  I can blog and “google” and “Facebook” and shop Amazon again!  Hooray!  And yet the moment was bittersweet as I realized deep in my soul the sanctity of the time I have spent away from my daily rituals connected with the computer.  The past few weeks of not connecting electronically have pushed me into other ways of connecting with people face to face.  Relationships have been deepened.  Adventures have been taken into places I ordinarily would not go.  Being “unhooked” from the virtual cyberspace has allowed for deeper, authentic, “soul” conversations with others, myself, and God.  I am grateful for this time.

So now, still getting settled in and making this house a home, I’m back to putting some thoughts “out there” to you.  We are heading into the future with hope and anticipation!

“Home is the nicest word there is.”― Laura Ingalls Wilder

 

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

3 responses to “Into The Future With Hope

Leave a Reply

