Alleluia…He is Risen!

Day 110 April 20, 2014
EASTER – HE IS RISEN – CELEBRATE!

He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the place where he lay.  -Matthew 28:6  NIV

IShrwa9wp8269a1000000000

Hallelujah, He is Risen!  Perhaps you might think this is a strange picture to illustrate such an important event as Easter.  Usually the day is symbolized by a rock rolled away to reveal a glowing empty tomb, disciples peering in, or even an empty cross.  So why would I choose to meditate on this picture today?  Because it tells the story of my Lenten- Easter journey this year, of course.
This is a photo of my bedroom as it is this morning.  Mostly empty, white, clean and pure with windows uncovered to reveal the community in which I live.  Early in the day on Ash Wednesday  I stood on my front porch watching the movers remove most of my household belongings.  I chuckled to myself at the notion of  giving my “things” up for Lent this year.  
My husband and I have been preparing our home for sale, thinking it would take some time to make some needed repairs, to sell it, find a new place to live.  God’s timing is perfect, though and we find ourselves forty days (plus a few) ready for a new adventure.  The scripture from Philippians 4, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” is one we have lived by throughout the Lenten season.  
This past month has led me through quite a transformation inside and out.  We have sorted and tossed and donated and recycled much of what we owned.  The house has been repaired and cleaned, painted and revived.  Strangers have walked through considering how it would be for them to live here and after several offers the house is now under contract to be sold.  And my husband and I are preparing to move the few belongings left in our house to our new home in the hills of Virginia to begin a new adventure as we follow the call of God in our lives to leave the old and move forward to where He leads.  

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Leave a Reply

