Anointed With Oil

Day 340 December 8, 2013

Are any among you sick? They should call for the elders of the church and have them pray over them, anointing them with oil in the name of the Lord.   -James 5:14

Image 1 “Work only with what’s in your pockets today. Don’t have pockets? Work with what’s in someone else’s pockets.” from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal by Noah Scalin

The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me;  he has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted,  to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners;  to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn;  to provide for those who mourn in Zion— to give them a garland instead of ashes,  the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit.  -Isaiah 61:1-3

The LORD is my shepherd ; I shall not want .  He maketh me to lie down  in green pastures: he leadeth  me beside the still waters.  He restoreth  my soul: he leadeth  me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Yea, though I walk  through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear  no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort  me.  Thou preparest  a table before me in the presence of mine enemies : thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.  Surely goodness and mercy shall follow  me all the days of my life: and I will dwell  in the house of the LORD for ever . -Psalm 23 (KJV)

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Comments are disabled.

