It Only Takes A Spark

Day 313  November 11, 2013

“The  spark divine dwells in thee: let it grow.”  –Ella  Wheeler Wilcox

match1 copy 2

“Work just with matches, flames, or fire today (but be careful!)  from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal by Noah Scalin

“At  times our own light goes out and is rekindled by a spark from another person.  Each of us has cause to think with deep gratitude of those who have lighted the  flame within us.”  –Albert Schweitzer

“You have to find what sparks a light in you so that you in your own way can illuminate the world.”   ― Oprah Winfrey

“Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swamps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all.”― Ayn Rand

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

2 responses to “It Only Takes A Spark

  • christinachase

    I love the quotes you shared in “It Only Takes a Spark” – except for the one from Oprah Winfrey. Honestly, I don’t know quite why, but it does seem to put forth a Me First kind of thinking…? Although, maybe if I didn’t know the source, I wouldn’t think that way, as Winfrey is sometimes limited (it seems to me) in what she thinks “sparks a light”.
    Though I’m joining late, I’m glad to be following your blog.

    • 365MissionalPractice

      Thanks for your comment, christinacchase. I totally understand about the Oprah quote. I really don’t have a clue what Ms Winfrey’s reflections are about this. I had considered not including her quote, but decided to take it for what it means to me, personally. I had to explore and discover my God-given gifts and talents so that I can passionately bring a portion of His Holy and Healing Light into this world. I might have only one small spark, but together with others we can certainly help bring goodness and light into a dark world. Welcome to the blog! Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

