What’s the Mission Again?

Day 223  August 12, 2013

“Create a Mad Libs-style story (remove nouns, adjectives, adverbs, and other parts of speech and replace them with blank lines) and have a friend fill it in.  Bonus:  Illustrate the end result.”  -from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal by Noah Scalin 

Image

      (when)      I will bring good news to        (who)      .  I will look for opportunities to         (verb)        justice,          (verb)        someone who is oppressed or captive,         (verb)        someone who is sad, depressed, or hurt.  I will        (verb)       the Peace of Christ.     

Isaiah 61:1,2  “The spirit of the Lord God is upon me, because the Lord has anointed me; he has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners;  to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Luke 4:18, 19  “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

 (NOTE:  I know….Not a true “MadLibs” but I am sure you get the point…fulfill the mission of Jesus Christ!)

“If we’re going to impact our world in the name of Jesus, it will be because people like you and me took action in the power of the Spirit. Ever since the mission and ministry of Jesus, God has never stopped calling for a movement of “Little Jesuses” to follow him into the world and unleash the remarkable redemptive genius that lies in the very message we carry. ”  ― Alan Hirsch, The Forgotten Ways: Reactivating the Missional Church

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Leave a Reply

