Sent

Day 95 April 6, 2013

Luke 9:1,2 And getting the twelve together, he gave them power and authority over all evil spirits and over diseases, to make them well.  And he sent them out to be preachers of the kingdom of God, and to make well those who were ill.

blog

Brian is sent.

Ask a stranger for a suggestion of what to do today. Explaining what you’re up to is part of the experience! Bonus: Get them involved in the actual thing you make.” -from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal by Noah Scalin

This is Brian.  Brian was my risk today.  And, though he has no idea of it, he was my teacher today.  After getting up some courage while paying for my groceries I went to the doors and waited for “my” stranger to come along.  A pretty lady with lots of bling was the first one I approached.  I told her what I was doing and asked her for help.  She laughed and just walked away.  Feeling embarrassed and defeated I made myself try again.  My next stranger was an older gentleman who looked like a kind of grandpa who might understand.  My mistake…I didn’t even get the words out before he brushed me off.  “One more”, I told myself (and God). ” I can’t stand here all day looking crazy.  One more.”    That’s when he walked through the door.  He looked a little disoriented like he had never been in that store before.  I asked him if he needed help and he said no.  So I told him I did.  “I need help.  I need an idea.”  Ready for another rejection I barely heard him say “ok”.  Wow!  We talked.  We talked about Jesus.  We talked about Mission.  We shared ideas and then he came up with the idea that at the core of it all is that we are all SENT….sent out to tell….to risk.  Brian was my teacher today….its worth the risk and rejection to be in mission.  After all, isn’t that the pure example of Christ?

If you want a love message to be heard, it has got to be sent out. To keep a lamp burning, we have to keep putting oil in it.
Mother Teresa

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Leave a Reply

