Anything is Possible

Day 73  March 14, 2013

“Work with the gravel, sand, or rocks available near your home.” -from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal by Noah Scalin

1527

This rock is a special place to me.  A while back I spent a weekend on it…really!  This rock is on top of a hill that overlooks the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia.  I had “gone to the mountain” to rest and renew and to reconnect with God for a few days.  I needed to get “unstuck” and out of a rut.  After climbing the hill I searched for a place to set up camp and was drawn to two boulders sitting next to each other.  1530   Years of weather had carved out the perfect indentations to climb up and the smooth cool surface made a welcoming place to sit and spread out my journals, Scriptures, and other supplies.  I could stand up on my rock and view the valley below and the trees surrounding me gave cool shelter from the August sun.  Not long after getting settled in this special place I noticed this tree.  It wasn’t so much that it was different than the others in the woods, but that it was growing out of the rock!  There was no soil, only a bit of dead leaves and pine needles.  The trunk was seven or eight inches in circumference.  It’s height stretched up about forty feet and its leafy branches were filled with healthy bright green leaves. 

That tree growing out a rock gave me a lot to think about over the few days I spent there.  I wondered how it got it’s start.  How did it root in such a hostile environment?  How deep must it’s roots be in order to reach to the soil for enough nourishment to be so healthy?  What had made the conditions so perfect that it could grow in such an unlikely place? And how could the little sprouting tree connected to it possible keep growing?

 I read scriptures about rocks giving oil and water.  I read in the Old Testament about the crags of the rocks being hiding places for man, birds, and beasts.  And I thought about the Mision of Jesus Christ and how overwhelming and impossible it seems to be at times.  I journaled about the times the way had seemed unclear, but God had provided all that was needed for restoration and growth just as he had provided this space in the rock for the tree. 

In the end I had few answers about the tree in the rock, but my faith had been strengthened and I left there with greater belief  in God’s ability to provide in ways I couldn’t imagine.  I knew He alone could provide the oil and water needed  to grow Disciples in my community. 

“Take the staff, and assemble the congregation, you and your brother Aaron, and command the rock before their eyes to yield its water. Thus you shall bring water out of the rock for them; thus you shall provide drink for the congregation and their livestock.  So Moses took the staff from before the Lord, as he had commanded him….  Then Moses lifted up his hand and struck the rock twice with his staff; water came out abundantly, and the congregation and their livestock drank.  -Numbers 20:8,9,11 

“The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer, my God, my rock in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”  -Psalm 18:2  NRS

 
 

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Leave a Reply

