Shared Leadership

Day 9- January 9,2013

“Make something with your breakfast before you eat it.” – from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal, by Noah Scalin

IMG_2281

 My breakfast this morning was a strawberry protein shake containing much of the nourishment I would need for the day in the form of vitamins and minerals.  There it was…all in one neat little packet.  Add water and stir.   One thing providing most of what I needed to be healthy….hardly a shared leadership model.   Shared leadership allows individuals to gather around a central mission or focus using their distinct talents, skills, and giftedness.  The burden of leading is shared and all benefit from the giving and receiving from one another.  As I poured the bland pink powder out of its package onto my pancake griddle (it was what was handy) the mound it formed was like a barren mini-mountain.  How often have I felt myself in the wilderness plodding uphill, not because of giftedness, knowledge, or passion, but out of a sense of duty and responsibility as a leader?  So  I reached for a nearby petaled cookie cutter and with all the joy of a child playing in mud I slammed it down on my little mountain.  I could not have guessed the result would be what I saw when I picked it up again.  The form left in my flattened pile of protein shake was a beautiful model of shared leadership…surrounding a mission middle were six unique petals with characteristics and beauty of their own.  Each joined by the central mission stretched out in their own way to create a beautiful whole.  …This morning I was fed and nourished to grow into a new possibility of shared leadership.

“Unity is strength…when there is teamwork and collaboration, wonderful things can be achieved.” -Mattie Stepanek

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Leave a Reply

