Simplicity

Day 4 – January 4, 2013

IMG_2249

“Take a five-minute walk, then make something using whatever materials are available where you’ve ended up.  Leave it there for someone else to discover.” – from 365 A Daily Creativity Journal by Noah Scalin

Late afternoon today I prayer-walked my neighborhood.  I was grateful for the few minutes away from a busy day to just enjoy the brisk air and sunshine.  On my street there was a stone slab.  The sunshine and shadows that played on it caught my eye.  The gray hues highlighted by the sun brought me back to moments in my life of simplicity, when life was not made complicated or overwhelming by my own hand.   I longed to be in that peaceful moment again, then realized that in this brief space walking with God, the uncomplicated stone created that moment of peace.  I had been caught up in todays assignment to make something and leave it behind.  Trying to complicate it, my mind had been full of fanciful ideas.  In that special moment simplicity was brought into focus once again, bringing me peace.  The few twigs on the ground provided the perfect medium to express myself and to share my gratitude to God who always calls me back into balance.

The art of art,

the glory of expression

and the light of letters,

is simplicity.

– Walt Whitman

 

About 365MissionalPractice

Love God, Love Christ, Love Others. I am passionate about creating Missional Relationships that encourage disciples to personify Christ's message. As a minister in a Community of Christ congregation in Virginia I am learning everyday what it means to be vulnerable, to risk, to experiment, to share in a world that needs the redemptive healing of Christ. View all posts by 365MissionalPractice

Leave a Reply

